Mitch Gross: Writing Samples

R.A. Salvatore? FEH!

Posted in Samples by Mitch on January 2, 2009

So I’ve never been a fan of R.A. Salvatore despite all the other gamers and fantasy fans who seem to drool at the drop of a hat when his name or stories are mentioned.

His writing style never grabbed me. I never finished any of the Drizzt novels, barely got beyond the first chapters in fact. Earlier this year, my wife went to the library and brought home The Gazillion Blades or whatever the new Drizzt series is called and I couldn’t get through it. I just found it… silly, frankly. Cliches abounded and the writing was just so over the top.

And then it happened…

She did it again!

My wife went to the library a couple weeks ago and brought home ANOTHER Salvatore book. Guess she forgot what happened last time. Or maybe the fact that the last time she did it, the book quickly put me to sleep. Hmmmm…

But, having nothing else to read, I gave it a chance.

And…

I liked it!

The story had some twists and turns that I did not anticipate, and as I did not read any advance press or the info on the inside cover; it went in directions that surprised me.

Though the ending wrapped things up a little too neatly and conveniently, I was enjoying the story and characters so that it didn’t bother me.

Basically, Salvatore took elements of Superman and Zorro and other mythic figures and melded them together and transported the end result to the typical medieval fantasy setting (Corona, which figures in some of his other books but you don’t have to have read them).

The end result is a enjoyable tale, which has some elements that are a bit graphic (not for those who are squeamish) but serves to heighten the villainy of the evil The Highwayman must face.

All in all, I’d recommend this book for anyone who enjoys tales of adventure and fantasy and who might be looking for interesting settings, characters and adventure ideas.

You can visit The Highwayman website for more details about the book, including a sample chapter, peek at the comic book and more.

P.S. There is a Drizzt short story at the end of the book as well which I also enjoyed – though it was still a little over the top, it wasn’t as bad as some of the others I’ve read. Maybe Salvatore is mellowing…

Originally published on WarCry.com, archive link below:

http://web.archive.org/web/20041011162915/f2f.warcry.com/scripts/news/view_news.phtml?site=74&id=31008

Leave a Reply

